curesd-child

Harry Potter and The Cursed Child, is a two-part play written by Jack Thorne that was released on July 31 2016.  It is the eighth story of the Harry Potter Universe.  I will try my utmost to avoid spoilers.

Let me start by saying I’m a BIG fan of the “Harry Potter” movies and books. I have read the 7 books more times than I can count and was so was excited about the Cursed Child that I could hardly sleep the week of its release. I’m not ashamed to say that I am still waiting on my acceptance letter to Hogwarts and that I hope to someday make Gryffindor proud.

The story takes place 19 years after the DEATHLY HOLLOWS. Harry Potter is now an overworked husband and father of three school age children: James Sirius, Albus Severus and Lily Luna. Harry is having difficulty connecting with his youngest son, Albus, whom he named after Professor Severus Snape and Albus Dumbledore.

 

It is really hard to be Harry Potter! I’m not exaggerating. His journey is excruciating. If you read the books or at least saw the movies, I am sure you would agree.  However, things did get better for Harry after his victory over the Dark Lord in battle.  As hard as it must have been to be Harry, imagine having to be his son, forced to live up to his father’s legacy.  This is the predicament in which Harry’s youngest son finds himself.  A legacy young Albus feels is forced upon him and one that he doesn’t want.  Who can blame him though?   How does one live up to Harry’s legacy?

However, it so happens that the past and present intertwine and Harry gets another chance to connect with his son.

I must say I loved the book!  It grabs your attention and doesn’t let it go. I will admit to crying a few times (particularly during Professor Snape heroic scene which was my absolute favorite!) “Let the tears flow” R.I.P Alan Rickman! Professor Snape was an incredible, beautiful and complex character.

The only two flaws I found with the script were the fact that time moves too quickly (I would have preferred sharing more in Albus and Scorpius’s journey at Hogwarts) and I also didn’t like the fact that Cedric’s death was the catalyst for Harry’s victory.  It did not strike me as significant enough event to play such an important role.  But in all honesty I was secretly hoping for Scorpius to be Voldemort’s son.  Having said that though, the script was definitely a gift to add to my collection.

It’s been a long while since we heard anything from THE HARRY POTTER’S UNIVERSE so I was pumped when I found out the screen play was being published as a book for us to read. I was, and still am, saddened by the fact I can’t travel to LONDON to see this play live on stage, but I take solace in the fact that it was published so at least I can meet the new characters and embrace the old ones in print. In my honest opinion this script deserves 5 stars. Please go out and buy it.

Leave a Reply

