“The more you READ the more things you know.

 The more that you learn the more places you’ll go.”

Dr. Seuss

 

I love comic books and I’m happy to share them with my friends in my Facebook “Nerdy Chatterbox “group.

 

E.V.I.L Heroes #1 of 6

evil heroes

Writer: Joe Brusha

Artist: Eric J

Publisher: Zenescope Entertainment

Release Date: August 3, 2016

Colorist: Matt Krotzer

 

“With great power… comes great corruption”

As I am sure was the author’s intent, the opening quote brings to mind Spiderman’s oft-quoted “with great power comes great responsibility” but I find Brusha’s take more realistic.  I am also reminded of Injustice: Gods Amongst Men, in that there are these “supermen,” these heroes who look after and protect us.  Have you ever wondered, what if they were evil?  What if mankind were enslaved by them rather than freed by them?  Well, you don’t have to wonder anymore.  Just read E.V.I.L Heroes.

***********************************

Animosity

onimisity

Writer: Marguerite Bennett

Artist: Rafael de Latorre

Colorist: Rob Schwager

Publisher: AfterShock Comics

Release Date: August 3, 2016

 

Thoughts

Basically this comic examines what might happen if one day the animals wake up one day and have the same intellect as human beings.  With the ability to think and speak it does not take long for them to exact their revenge on any and all who have wronged them – and that means humanity!   It is an interesting spin on Orwell’s Animal Farm for sure.  Keep an eye out for the “Panda” panel… lol sweet.

I have a Boxer “daughter” named Jo, whom I love.  God forbid she would ever need to, but I’m sure she would (even at her age) do her best to protect me (like how Sandor loves and protect Jesse.)

*******************************

 

Kill or be Killed   

kill or be killed

 

Writer: Ed Brubaker

Artist: Sean Phillips

Colorist: Elizabeth Breitweiser

Publisher: Image Comics

Release Date: August 3, 2016

 

Thoughts

This is definitely my favorite debut issue.  I like it so much I want to be careful not to provide too much information and spoil the story for any potential readers.  Let me just say that it is a twisted story about how a young man is forced to kill bad people in order to stay alive.

Brubaker successfully touches on many important and controversial contemporary topics thus making it a hit for me.  It may not sound like a particularly unique premise but Brubaker’s writing is stellar and I guarantee you will not be disappointed.  I wish I had 4 hands so I could give it 4 thumbs up!

********************************************

 Blood & Dust: The life & Undeath of Judd Glenny

blood & dust

Writer:  William R Martin & Adam J Orndorf

Artist:  Roy Allan Martinez

Colorist: Raymund Lee

Publisher:  Action Lab Comics

Release Date: August 3, 2016

Thoughts

Vampires! Don’t we just love them and their gothic persona? lol

You may be all “vampired out” at this point with the glut of vampire stories, movies, etc.; however, Judd Glenny isn’t your average vampire.  Once he was the most feared and powerful of vampires… but now he’s just your lovable grandpa (exaggerating abit) It’s an interesting take on an old topic.  Good read!

***********************

 

Hillbilly

hillbilly

In Rode Death #2

Writer: Eric Powell

Artist: Eric Powell

Publisher: Albatross

Release Date: June 28, 2016 (first issue)

 

Thoughts

This comic isn’t for everyone but keep in mind Issue #1 is phenomenal.  The story is set in a rural area rife with superstitions and legends, etc. Just as with his work on The Goon Powell creates great characters.  You’ll meet witches and monstrous creatures and of course Hillbilly.  It’s just a mixture of good humor and crazy adventure.  Read issue #2 and you’ll see what I’m talking about.

*******************************************

Lady Killer

LK1

Writer: Joelle Jones, Jamie Rich

Artist:  Joelle Jones

Colorist: Laura Allred

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

Release Date: August 3, 2016

 

Thoughts

See my other blog post for this review.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

