Writer: Justin Jordan
Artist: Kylie Strahm
Publisher: Image Comics
Release Date: July 9, 2014

spread_07b

Let me start by saying shout out to NERDY CHATTERBOX  Group on Facebook -We just love “Geeking out.” Join us if you can.
Warning: SPREAD is not for the faint of heart! Let me repeat: SPREAD is not for the faint of heart. I was browsing in my local comic book store and peeking out behind the latest issue of Old Man Logan was Spread #7 (although what it was doing there I could not tell you). I was immediately taken by the image. “Now this” I thought “I have to check out!” I read the first page and BAM! The hook was in my mouth and I was being reeled in.

 

The artwork was enough to get me to vow then and there to collect all the back issues and get caught up! Quick shout out to the guys at Collector’s Inn here in Buffalo Western New York who were helpful in procuring issues #1-6!
You have heard of binge watching? After reading the first issue I was all about binge reading! I read them all one after the other. I’m enjoying the post apocalyptic world that Jordan created. If you’re a fan of The Walking Dead, you’ll enjoy Spread. Like TWD, there is that element of the danger of the Spread often being eclipsed by the danger of the “humanity” with which you come into contact. To borrow a phrase – Fight the Spread. Fear the living.
I’m not kidding! It is amazing.

Story

I will try my best to avoid spoilers and what not.

Every once in a while a comic book story will come along that connects with its audience. Spread is a bloody and creepy apocalypse filled with crazy vicious monsters, whose origins and composition to this point are unclear. Is it an alien organism? The result of some sort of infectious outbreak? If you thought zombies were bad, imagine a zombie whose eyeballs transform into sharp teeth! And bloody? Well, let’s just say that it could be called Red and that would not be inaccurate J

The story follows what appears to be a mute but otherwise incredibly capable loner called NO and his charge, an infant named HOPE, and their adventures navigating this bloody and dangerous landscape. I’ll leave the rest up to your imagination; however, if you decides to indulge yourself you’ll meet CRAZY MOLLY and FAT JACK (don’t mess with him) to name just a few.

Jordan is a prolific writer with a strong body of work (check out Dark Gods, Deep State, or Dead Body Road) In my opinion this could be his best work to date.
As far as the artwork, Strahm’s work is gripping. They say a picture paints a thousand words so don’t take my word for it, pick up Spread and see for yourself what Strahm is “saying” with his interpretation of this dystopian world of No and Hope. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

