mae-3

Story and Art: Gene Ha

Colorist: Rose McClain

Letterer: Zander Cannon

 

 

Hello Nerdy Chatterboxigans!

Did you ever wish you could go off into a fantasy land? Visit another realm?

Growing up I was always daydreaming. My head was always in books or the clouds. I’m a big fan of what I call portal adventures (think Harry Potter, Alice in Wonderland, Narnia, Wizard Of Oz, etc.) As a result I was always thinking about fairies, unicorns, mermaids, gnomes, castles, magical wonders, and crazy, thrill packed adventures. To me these were places where I belonged and could be myself. Since Manchester, Jamaica was not really home to any such portals, I settled for books and movies. And now Gene Ha has given me Mae 🙂

Mae’s realm captures all the aforementioned fantasy, advanced technology, compelling characters, unique creatures (think talking cats), as well as my attention! Mae is a breath of fresh air when it comes to fantasy. The story is intriguing and does a great job of transporting you Mnoukove. I cant believe we are at issue #5 already! High five Mr Ha 🙂

Lets talk Mae ( I won’t spoil anything so feel free to share)

An adolescent girl named Abbie discovers a portal to a fantastic world full of terrible monsters, mad scientists, and evil nobles, and is gone for years! While in Mnoukove she does battle with these crazy scary creatures and evil nobles.

After some years Abbie finally returns home to her family. Her sister Mae, along with everyone else, has no idea where she has been and what happened to her. Abbie shares her story to rather skeptical ears …that is until the creatures start to cross over to earth and kidnap someone close to the sisters! Now its up to Mae to help Abbie save their father. As you would expect they soon discover it’s not that easy! You know that old saying – out of the frying pan and into the fire? Well lets just say the girls better have asbestos wardrobes!

The fact that Gene Ha not only writes the story but also illustrates it also is a plus for me. Talk about a man of many talents 🙂 The art is clean and easy to follow and to my eye captures exactly what I imagine this world to be. Mae is an excellent all ages fantasy adventure. Put this on your list! It certainly would make a great present (perhaps to a lowly blogger who would LOVE signed copy from the creator/author/artist – wink wink!)

Its definitely something that I plan to pass down to my daughter and/

or grand kids someday.

Gene Ha, you’re awesome.

PS Attention Netflix: Mae. Series. Soon.

Leave a Reply

