Harrow County

Writer: Cullen Bunn

Artist: Tyler Crook

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

 ps-harrow-county

Hey guys!

I just realized that I didn’t do a review for Harrow County!! OMG! For the uninitiated, I’m a big Harrow County fan – Please check my twitter page —>SonnieRobin

 

Just a bit of background, the first issue was released on May 15, 2016 and we are currently up to issue #17. I was hooked from the first issue. I don’t want to say I am a fangirl, but let’s just say that it would not be farfetched to see that the next episode of A & E’s Hoarders tells the story of am Island Girl whose residence is overrun with Cullen Bunn comics. In another life we are besties, lol! I collect everything he does. In the comic world, Bunn is best known for his work on Uncanny X-Men and various Deadpool miniseries for Marvel Comics.

 

 

OK! OK! Let me not stray from the topic at hand HARROW COUNTY.

 

Harrow County is friggin’ scary…but in a good way. It’s written in such a way that you easily find yourself immersed in it. It may be me, but I have found it quite easy to find myself thinking as if I am a resident of Harrow County. As such I also find that it carries with it a type of dread and tension that I find lacking in most films these days.

 

Emmy always knew that the deep, dark woods surrounding her home was crawling with ghosts, goblins, and other things that go bump in the night. But on the eve of her eighteenth birthday, she learns that she is connected to these creatures—and to the land itself—in a way she never imagined. Ooooooooh…Intriguing or what?

 

Let’s go back in time… (I am trying not ruin stuff here! I want you to buy the comic and enjoy it as much as I do! So I’m walking on thin ice here. The things I do for my readers…:)

 

Hester was labeled a witch and therefore, the townsfolk decided they needed to destroy her. She was beaten, stabbed, burned and then hung. I’ll give you a minute to process this information! OK, so you have been beaten, stabbed and hung and you are a witch…what are you going to do? Right! Hester curses the townsfolk. She proclaims to the townspeople of Harrow County that 18 years from the date of her murder she will return to wreak havoc on them and their families. OOOOOOK let me stop right here!

 

I love this book. Cullen Bunn’s southern gothic tale of horror is as scary as any great horror novel and seriously creeps me the hell out while simultaneously making me fall in love with the characters. Honestly there’s no way I can tell you any more of the story without ruining it for you! And never let it be said that Sonnie is a spoiler!

 

Lest we forget the art…I not only fell in love with the story but the artwork as well. Tyler Crook is amazing and he did a phenomenal Job. He is also my twitter buddy! Such a cool guy! I am proud to say that I can spot his work anywhere.

 

PS On an unrelated note, my first Children’s Book “Jo’s Big Paws” is available on Amazon –>Here you go:). And I might add that it feels good to actually publish something. You can like, share on Jo’s Big Paws Facebook Page.–>JBPs Fb Page

Leave a Reply

