Hello Nerdy Chatterboxigans

Please join my Facebook group ‘Nerdy Chatterbox’ it’s FREE!  Nerdy Chatterbox!

*This is not a review

I’m back just to talk about Zack Kaplan’s comic ECLIPSE! We are currently up to issue #4 so run along and treat yourself this Christmas.  You won’t regret it.  As some of you may already know I have been following the comic from day one!  September7th, 2016 to be exact.  If you have read my other reviews you’d know that I like the post-apocalyptic genre, and boy is this comic fits the bill and then some!

This comic had me thinking about climate change/global warming to the nth degree (pun intended)! With so many titles on the shelves at your lcbs every week Eclipse is definitely one you need to add to your pull list/box (if you have one).  Eclipse is timely and thought provoking.   I guess it’s safe to say that I’m in love with it and you will be too.  If you have not been able to catch the individual issues I’m sure there will be a trade coming out soon, so no need to fret. 🙂

Did I mention I won a signed copy of Eclipse for my artistic endeavors?  Thank you Mr. Kaplan!   I am not going to lie…no one is going to mistake my drawings with those of Giovanni Timpano.  It is safe to say that it rather resembled the work of a 6 year old.  But hey, didn’t Picasso say it took him years to learn to paint like a child?  Well, I can already draw like a child and that is my spin on it J

Thank you Mr. Kaplan.  You’re the real MVP. I will always be a fan of you and your work.

readcomics-net

I was quite surprised to discover in Mr. Kaplan’s letter to the readers in issue 4 that Eclipse is his first comic.  It is so well conceived and executed.  The premise is interesting, as are the characters and the message.  Combined with the artwork by Giovanni Timpano and Chris Northrop, I found the comic came to life… and boy did it stay alive!  This goes to show, Mr. Kaplan, that if you can dream it, you can do it.  And I, the reader, just want to thank you for chasing your dream and achieving it!  The comic reading world is better for it.

On a different note, I also would like to thank you for being so genuine.  You are responsive and always tweeting to the readers (unlike some of the stuck-up comic book writers I know!)  I’m sure you inspired a lot of your readers as well.  Many of us know of the darkness of which you speak in the letter and I’m glad your FIRST comic added some sunshine to both of our lives…even if it’s in a deadly, immolating form 🙂

Let’s recap…

 I do my best to avoid spoiling the comic book for you.

 

In issue one we discovered that a mysterious solar event has transformed the sun’s light into deadly rays.  If that wasn’t bad enough, a killer emerges who is targeting the daughter (Cielo) of a solar power mogul and this killer is using the said deadly rays to kill his victims.  Who will save who?  Who is going to die?  Issue two adds to the back story and reveals more about how the flare occurred.  Baxter, a disillusioned solar engineer, and police detective James Everly, are tasked with finding the mysterious killer who doesn’t burn in the sunshine. How is that possible? The harder Baxter pursues this killer, the more questions arise.  Baxter is a true hero, risking his life to protect another.  Not all heroes wear a cape… some just wear an ice man suit.

Issue 4 is where things really heat up (pun intended).  How can this one man survive in an environment in which no one else can?  Why is he killing? What is his interest in Cielo?  Will Baxter be able to save Cielo?  Will Baxter get the type of reorganization he deserves? Will Baxter survive or die like the others?   Well, start reading the comic to find out.

Let me conclude by saying that I love the direction in which this comic is heading.  If you’re fascinated by post-apocalyptic comics this one right here is just for you.   Netflix Hint! Hint!

5/5

 

PS I too wrote my first children’s book Jo’s Big Paws this year and you don’t have to ask me twice I’m sharing it with you 🙂

It’s available on Amazon and Kindle EBook format -> Jo’s Big Paws

Or simply like us on Facebook ->https://www.facebook.com/JBPsforyoungreaders

 

 

Leave a Reply

